top of page

Die
Stiftung

Die “International FOXP1 Foundation” ist eine eingetragene, gemeinnützige Organisation, die von Eltern ehrenamtlich geleitet und betreut wird. Wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, diejenigen zu unterstützen, die von einer FOXP1-Diagnose betroffen sind, sowie regelmäßig Spenden zu sammeln, um die Erforschung des FOXP1-Syndroms und möglicher Behandlungsmethoden zu fördern.

 

Wir haben Informationen zu Symptomen, Merkmalen und Verhaltensmustern zusammengetragen, die charakteristisch für unsere FOXP1-Kinder sind, sowie zu Verfahren und Therapien, die sich bewährt haben und die die Lebensqualität der Kinder verbessern können. Unsere Informationen werden durch neue Erkenntnisse aus der Wissenschaft über FOXP1 stetig wachsen und aktuell gehalten. Es sind zudem regelmäßige Online-Veranstaltungen geplant, um Mitglieder aus der ganzen Welt miteinander zu verbinden. In Zukunft sollen auch Familientreffen stattfinden, um Mitglieder der FOXP1-Gemeinschaft zusammenzubringen. 

Ana Kostic_2019.jpg

ANA KOSTIC
Außerordentlicher Professor für Psychiatrie an der Icahn School of Medicine am Mount Sinai und Direktor für Wirkstoffforschung und -entwicklung am Seaver Autism Center for Research and Treatment

Dr. Kostic ist klinischer Wissenschaftler mit Expertise in Arzneimittelentwicklung, Biomarkern,  Patientenselektion und Stratifizierung. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Forschung liegt auf der Identifizierung potenzieller Wirkstoffkandidaten zur Behandlung von Autismus, der Entwicklung experimenteller Strategien zur Erprobung in neuronalen Zellsystemen und Tiermodellen sowie der Entdeckung und Validierung molekularer Biomarker bei Autismus. Ihre Gruppe interessiert sich insbesondere für ADNP-, DDX3X-, FOXP1- und Phelan-McDermid-Syndrome, die häufigsten Einzelgen-Ursachen von Autismus.  Bevor Dr. Kostic zu Mount Sinai kam, war er elf Jahre in der Biotech-/Pharmaindustrie in verschiedenen Rollen in der präklinischen, klinischen und Präzisionsmedizin bei Regeneron Pharmaceuticals und als Senior Director of Translational Medicine bei Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals tätig. Dr. Kostic erhielt ihre Promotion und Postdoc-Ausbildung in Molekular- und Zellbiologie an der Columbia University.
Annette Schenck.jpg

ANNETTA SCHENCK

Professor in der Abteilung für Humangenetik des Radboud University Medical Center in Nijmegen, Niederlande

Dr. Schenck erwarb ihren Ph.D. und eine Auszeichnung für die beste Dissertation im Jahr 2003 von der Universität Louis Pasteur, Straßburg, Frankreich, für ihre Arbeit über die molekularen Grundlagen des Fragile-X-Syndroms. Als Postdoktorandin am Max-Planck-Institut für Zellbiologie und Genetik in Dresden erforschte sie die Funktion einer neuartigen endozytischen Organelle. 2007 erhielt sie ein Tenure-Track-Forschungsstipendium an der Radboud UMC. Im Jahr 2008 wurde sie angestellt, 2009 folgte ihre Beförderung zur außerordentlichen Professorin.  Ihre Arbeit an der Drosophila-Fruchtfliege als Modell für neurologische Entwicklungsstörungen hat mehrere molekulare Netzwerke und Mechanismen aufgedeckt, die der Kognition bei Gesundheit und Krankheit zugrunde liegen. Sie zeigte, dass kognitive Defizite in einigen dieser Modelle im Erwachsenenstadium rückgängig gemacht werden können und verfolgt derzeit mehrere Projekte, die darauf abzielen, pharmakologische oder verhaltensbezogene Interventionsansätze zu identifizieren. Dr. Schenck verwendet Drosophila auch zur Verbesserung der Diagnostik, was zur Validierung von > zwei Dutzend ID/ASD-Genen beigetragen hat, tiefe Einblicke in Krankheitspathologien gewonnen und Beweise dafür geliefert hat, dass Drosophila zur klinischen Entscheidungsfindung beitragen kann.  Einige ihrer aktuellen Arbeiten in diesem Zusammenhang konzentrieren sich auf das Drosophila FoxP-Gen mit Anwendbarkeit auf die Genese und potenzielle klinische Interventionen des menschlichen FOXP1-Syndroms.
Sie ist ehemalige VIDI- und Aspasia-Preisträgerin, Gründungsmitglied des German Mental Retardation Network und der Junior European Drosophila Investigators, Mitglied des Expertengremiums für Modellorganismen des International Rare Disease Consortium und hat mehrere internationale Konsortien mitgestaltet oder an diesen beteiligt.  Im Jahr 2020 erhielt Schenck den renommiertesten persönlichen Karrierepreis der Niederländischen Organisation für wissenschaftliche Forschung, wurde zum Mitglied der Academia Europaea gewählt und zum ordentlichen Professor ernannt. 
Cora Taylor headshot.png

CORA TAYLOR

Assistenzprofessor und klinischer Psychologe bei Geisinger Autism & Developmental Medicine

Dr. Taylor verfügt über Expertise in der diagnostischen Bewertung von Kindern mit einer Reihe von Entwicklungsproblemen. Bei Geisinger forscht Dr. Taylor und leitet die phänotypische Batterieauswahl und -verwaltung für eine Vielzahl aktueller Forschungsprotokolle bei Geisinger, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der phänotypischen Charakterisierung von Personen mit seltenen genetischen Erkrankungen. Dr. Taylor hat Erfahrung in der Einbeziehung von Familien und familienbasierten Organisationen für seltene genetische Erkrankungen in die Forschung durch Online-Teilnahme, die interessierten Patienten und Familien international angeboten wird.  Vor ihrem Eintritt bei Geisinger absolvierte Dr. Taylor ihre Graduiertenausbildung an der University of Tennessee und ein Forschungs- und klinisches Postdoc-Stipendium an der Vanderbilt University.
David Amaral Photo.jpg

DAVID AMARAL

Distinguished Professor und Beneto Foundation Stiftungslehrstuhl an der University of California in Davis; Direktor des Autism Center of Excellence am MIND Institute 

Dr. Amaral promovierte in Psychologie und Neurobiologie an der University of Rochester und arbeitete anschließend als Postdoc an der Washington University in Neuroanatomie.  In den letzten 25 Jahren widmete sich seine Forschung dem Verständnis der psychologischen und biologischen Grundlagen der Autismus-Spektrum-Störung, einschließlich postmortaler Studien des autistischen Gehirns, MRT-Studien von Kindern mit Autismus-Spektrum-Störung und Bemühungen, nichtmenschliche Primatenmodelle des Autismus-Spektrums zu etablieren Störung.  Im Rahmen seiner Forschung hat Dr. Amaral über 330 Forschungsartikel veröffentlicht und drei Bücher mitherausgegeben.  In seiner derzeitigen Funktion koordiniert er eine umfassende und multidisziplinäre Analyse von Kindern mit Autismus am MIND Institute namens Autism Phenome Project, um biomedizinische Merkmale verschiedener Arten von Autismus zu definieren. 2001 arbeitete Amaral mit Cure Autism Now und NAAR zusammen, um das erste Internationale Treffen für Autismusforschung in San Diego abzuhalten, das zur Gründung der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Autismusforschung (INSAR) und der INSAR-Konferenz führte.  Dr. Amaral war 2009 und 2010 Präsident von INSAR. Im April 2015 wurde er Chefredakteur von Autism Research, der Zeitschrift von INSAR. 2016 wurde er vom US-Gesundheitsminister in das Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee berufen.  2019 wurde Amaral in die renommierte US National Academy of Medicine gewählt.  Dr. Amaral ist außerdem an der Abteilung für Psychiatrie und Verhaltenswissenschaften, dem Center for Neuroscience und dem California National Primate Research Center tätig.
EvanEichler_headshot_0138.jpg

EVAN EICHLER

Professor und Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator of Genome  Wissenschaften  Bei der  Universität von Washington

Dr. Eichler erhielt seinen Ph.D. vom Baylor College of Medicine. Nach seiner Postdoc-Arbeit am Human Genome Project als Hollaender Fellow am Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory wechselte er 1997 an die Case Western Reserve University und 2004 an die University of Washington. Er wurde zum HHMI Investigator (2005), zum AAAS Fellow ( 2006), erhielt den Curt Stern Award der American Society of Human Genetics (2008) und wurde zum Mitglied der National Academy of Sciences (2013) und der Medizin (2018) gewählt. Sein Labor entwickelt experimentelle und computergestützte Methoden, um die Rolle der strukturellen Variation sowohl bei menschlichen Krankheiten als auch bei der Evolution zu untersuchen. Seine Forschungsgruppe lieferte die erste genomweite Sicht auf segmentale Duplikationen und ihre Rolle bei der rezidivierenden Kopienzahlvariation (CNV) im Zusammenhang mit pädiatrischen Erkrankungen. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich speziell auf die Charakterisierung von rezidivierenden de novo- und seltenen Gen-disruptiven Mutationen und er hat damit Hunderte von Genen entdeckt, die für Entwicklungsverzögerungen und Autismus-Spektrum-Störungen wichtig sind.
Konopka_headshot_2021_edited.jpg

GENEVIEVE KONOPKA

Associate Professor für Neurowissenschaften und Jon Heighten Scholar in Autism Research am UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Konopka erhielt einen dualen BS-Abschluss in Hirn- und Kognitionswissenschaften und Biologie vom MIT und schloss ihren Ph.D. in Neurobiologie an der Harvard University. Die Forschung im Konopka-Labor konzentriert sich auf das Verständnis der molekularen Signalwege, die für die Evolution des menschlichen Gehirns wichtig sind und bei kognitiven Störungen wie Autismus und Schizophrenie gefährdet sind. Ihr Labor verwendet eine Kombination aus menschlichen Neuronen, Tiermodellen und vergleichender Genomik von Primaten, um humanspezifische, krankheitsrelevante Muster der Genexpression aufzudecken. Jüngste Arbeiten in ihrem Labor integrieren die Genexpression mit Signaturen neuronaler Aktivität im menschlichen Gehirn.  Dr. Konopka hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter einen NARSAD Young Investigator Award, einen NIH Pathway to Independence Award, einen Basil O'Connor Scholar Award des March of Dimes, einen Young Investigator Award der International Society for Autism Research (INSAR). , ein Kavli Fellow der National Academy of Sciences und ein Understanding Human Cognition Scholar Award der James S. McDonnell Foundation.
1200px-Prof._Dr._Gudrun_Rappold.jpg

GUDRUN RAPPOLD

Professor und Lehrstuhlinhaber für Molekulare Humangenetik an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg und Mitglied der Fakultät für Biowissenschaften

Nach dem Studium der Biowissenschaften in Heidelberg, Konstanz und Stanford promovierte Dr. Rappold 1984 bei Thomas Cremer und Friedrich Vogel an der Universität Heidelberg über die Rolle der menschlichen Geschlechtschromosomen.  Nach ihrer Habilitation baute sie eine eigene Forschungsgruppe am Institut für Humangenetik in Heidelberg auf, gefördert durch das Gerhard-Hess-Programm der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.  Die Forschung in der Gruppe von Dr. Rappold konzentrierte sich auf die molekularen Mechanismen genetischer Entwicklungsstörungen, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf neurologische Entwicklungsstörungen und den genetischen Ursachen von geistiger Behinderung und Autismus, sowie auf der Regulation von Transkriptionsfaktoren in Wachstum und Entwicklung.  Sie hat über 200 Originalarbeiten, 50 Rezensionen und Buchkapitel, eine Monographie und mehrere Patente veröffentlicht.  Dr. Rappold erhielt mehrere Auszeichnungen und Anerkennungen, darunter den Gerhard-Hess-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (1989–1994), den Grundlagenforschungspreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg (1990) und verschiedene Preise für die Forschungsleistung von Mitarbeitern (1997–2019).  Sie ist Mitglied des Centrums für Seltene Erkrankungen, des Interdisziplinären Zentrums für Neurowissenschaften, des Deutschen Zentrums für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen und des Exzellenzclusters CellNetworks sowie weiterer institutioneller und gesellschaftlicher Mitgliedschaften.
Jacki Crawley headshot.jpg

JACKI CRAWLEY

Distinguished Professor Emerita, MIND Institute; Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of California Davis School of Medicine

Dr. Crawley ist ein international anerkannter Verhaltensneurowissenschaftler, dessen jüngste Forschung sich auf genetische Mausmodelle für neurologische Entwicklungsstörungen konzentrierte. Von 2012 bis 2020 war sie als Robert E. Chason Stiftungslehrstuhl für Translationale Forschung am MIND Institute und Professorin am Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences der University of California Davis School of Medicine in Sacramento tätig.
Dr. Crawley erhielt ihren BA in Biologie von der University of Pennsylvania, Ph.D. in Zoologie von der University of Maryland und forschte als Postdoc in Neuropsychopharmakologie an der Yale University School of Medicine. Als leitende Forscherin am National Institute of Mental Health Intramural Research Program in Bethesda, Maryland, war sie seit 1983 Leiterin des Laboratory of Behavioral Neuroscience, bis sie 2012 an das UC Davis MIND Institute wechselte Rattenmodelle für Angst, Depression, Schizophrenie, Alzheimer, Fettleibigkeit und neurologische Entwicklungsstörungen, um biologische Ursachen zu verstehen und medizinische Behandlungen zu entdecken. Jüngste Arbeiten in ihrem Labor an genetischen Mausmodellen für Autismus identifizierten GABA-A- und GABA-B-Rezeptor-Agonisten sowie mGluR5- und AMPA-Rezeptor-Modulatoren, die Aspekte der sozialen Interaktion verbesserten und sich wiederholende Verhaltensweisen reduzierten. Sie hat über 275 Veröffentlichungen und 110 Übersichtsartikel veröffentlicht, war Mitglied in zahlreichen Editorial Boards, wissenschaftlichen Beratungs- und Stipendienausschüssen, erhielt Auszeichnungen wie den IBNS Myers Lifetime Achievement Award, den IBANGS Distinguished Scientist Award, den NIMH Director's Award, den UC Davis Dean's Award und leitete die Summer Neuropeptide Conference und die AAAS Neuroscience Section.  Dr. Crawley ist auch Autor von , einer in der biomedizinischen Forschungsgemeinschaft weit verbreiteten Referenz.
 
srivastava_siddharth.jpg

Siddharth Srivastava 

Assistenzprofessorin für Neurologie an der Harvard Medical School/Boston Children's Hospital

Dr. Siddharth Srivastava ist ein auf Neurogenetik spezialisierter pädiatrischer Neurologe am Boston Children's Hospital. Seine Forschung umfasst die Untersuchung verschiedener genetischer Ursachen neurologischer Entwicklungsstörungen mit dem Ziel, gezielte Behandlungen zu entwickeln. Am Boston Children's Hospital betreut er Kinder in verschiedenen Kliniken für neurologische Entwicklung und Neurogenetik. Er erhielt seinen BA-Abschluss in Biochemie von der Columbia University und seinen MD-Abschluss von der Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Er absolvierte eine kombinierte Facharztausbildung für Pädiatrie und neurologische Entwicklungsstörungen am Johns Hopkins Hospital und am Kennedy Krieger Institute. Er absolvierte ein Stipendium in Neurogenetik am Boston Children's Hospital. 
 
bottom of page

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is a group of distinguished researchers and clinicians that have volunteered their time and expertise to support and guide the work of the Foundation.  The SAB members bring a wealth of experience in basic, animal, and clinical research and practice, with cross-cutting areas of expertise spanning FOXP1 biology, neuroscience, genetics, bioinformatics, and molecular bases of autism and related neurodevelopmental disorders, among others.  With their backgrounds and experience, they help the Foundation prioritize and plan its research activities, network with other research groups working on topics relevant to FOXP1, and connect with other similar advocacy groups. SAB members also share their expertise with the wider FOXP1 community in our monthly virtual meet-ups, parent-research meetings, and other community events.  Finally, the Foundation hopes to raise enough money to support FOXP1 research projects, and the SAB will help review and evaluate applications for research funds.  The current SAB members are profiled below.

Ana Kostic_2019.jpg

ANA KOSTIC
Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, and the Director of Drug Discovery and Development at the Seaver Autism Center for Research and Treatment

Dr. Kostic is a clinical scientist with expertise in drug development, biomarkers,  patient selection and stratification. The main focus of her research is to identify potential drug candidates for treatment of autism, design experimental strategies for testing in neuronal cell systems and animal models, as well as to discover and validate molecular biomarkers in autism. Specifically, her group is interested in ADNP, DDX3X, FOXP1, and Phelan-McDermid syndromes, the most common single-gene causes of autism.  Prior to joining Mount Sinai, Dr. Kostic spent eleven years in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry working in various roles across preclinical, clinical and precision medicine at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and as Senior Director of Translational Medicine at Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals. Dr. Kostic received her PhD and postdoctoral training in molecular and cell biology at Columbia University.
Annette Schenck.jpg

ANNETTA SCHENCK

Professor in the Human Genetics Department at the Radboud University Medical Centre in Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Dr Schenck obtained her Ph.D. and an award for the best thesis in 2003, from the University Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France, for her work on the molecular basis of Fragile X Syndrome. Her postdoctoral research at the Max Planck Institute for Cell Biology & Genetics in Dresden, Germany, explored the function of a novel endocytic organelle. In 2007, she was awarded a tenure-track research fellowship at Radboud UMC. In 2008 she was tenured, and in 2009 followed her promotion to Associate Professor.  Her work in the Drosophila fruit fly as a model for neurodevelopmental disorders has uncovered multiple molecular networks and mechanisms underlying cognition in health and disease. She demonstrated that cognitive deficits in some of these models can be reversed at adult stages and currently pursues several projects aiming to identify pharmacologic or behavioural intervention approaches. Dr. Schenck also applies Drosophila to improve diagnostics, which has contributed to the validation of >two dozen ID/ASD genes, has generated deep insights into disease pathologies, and provided evidence that Drosophila can contribute to clinical decision making.  Some of her current work in this context focuses on the Drosophila FoxP gene with applicability to the genesis of and potential clinical interventions for human FOXP1 syndrome.
She is a past VIDI and Aspasia awardee, founding member of the German Mental Retardation network and the Junior European Drosophila Investigators, member of the International Rare Disease Consortium model organism expert panel, and co-designed or contributed to multiple international consortia.   In 2020, Schenck received the most prestigious personal career award from The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, was elected member of the Academia Europaea, and promoted to full Professor. 
Cora Taylor headshot.png

CORA TAYLOR

Assistant professor and clinical psychologist at Geisinger Autism & Developmental Medicine

Dr. Taylor has expertise in the diagnostic evaluation of children with a range of developmental concerns. At Geisinger, Dr. Taylor conducts research and leads the phenotypic battery selection and administration on a variety of current research protocols at Geisinger, with a focus on the phenotypic characterization of individuals with rare genetic conditions. Dr. Taylor has experience in engaging families and family-based organizations for rare genetic conditions in research through online participation that is offered internationally to interested patients and families.  Prior to joining Geisinger, Dr. Taylor completed her graduate training at the University of Tennessee, and a research and clinical postdoctoral fellowship at Vanderbilt University.
David Amaral Photo.jpg

DAVID AMARAL

Distinguished Professor and Beneto Foundation Endowed Chair at University of California at Davis; Director of the Autism Center of Excellence at M.I.N.D. Institute 

Dr. Amaral received a joint PhD in Psychology and Neurobiology from the University of Rochester and then carried out postdoctoral work at Washington University in neuroanatomy.  For the last 25 years, his research has been dedicated to understanding the psychological and biological bases of autism spectrum disorder, including postmortem studies of the autistic brain, MRI studies of children with autism spectrum disorder, and efforts to establish nonhuman primate models of autism spectrum disorder.  Through his research, Dr. Amaral has published over 330 research articles and has co-edited three books.  In his present roles, he coordinates a comprehensive and multidisciplinary analysis of children with autism at the MIND Institute called the Autism Phenome Project to define biomedical characteristics of different types of autism. In 2001, Amaral collaborated with Cure Autism Now and NAAR to hold the first International Meeting for Autism Research in San Diego which led to the creation of the International Society for Autism Research (INSAR) and the INSAR conference.  Dr. Amaral went on to serve as the President of INSAR in 2009 and 2010. In April of 2015, he became Editor-in-Chief of Autism Research, the journal of INSAR. In 2016, he was appointed to the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee by the US Secretary of Health and Human Services.  In 2019, Amaral was elected to the prestigious US National Academy of Medicine.  Dr. Amaral also holds appointments with the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Center for Neuroscience, and the California National Primate Research Center.
EvanEichler_headshot_0138.jpg

EVAN EICHLER

Professor and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigatior of Genome Sciences at the University of Washington

Dr. Eichler received his Ph.D. from Baylor College of Medicine. After his postdoctoral work on the Human Genome Project as a Hollaender fellow at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, he joined Case Western Reserve University in 1997 and the University of Washington in 2004. He was appointed as an HHMI Investigator (2005), an AAAS Fellow (2006), awarded the American Society of Human Genetics Curt Stern Award (2008) and elected a member of National Academy of Sciences (2013) and Medicine (2018). His lab develops experimental and computational methods to investigate the role of structural variation in both human disease and evolution. His research group provided the first genome-wide view of segmental duplications and their role in recurrent copy-number variation (CNV) associated with pediatric disease. His research focuses specifically on the characterization of recurrent de novo and rare gene-disruptive mutations and he has used it discover hundreds of genes important for developmental delay and autism spectrum disorder.
Konopka_headshot_2021_edited.jpg

GENEVIEVE KONOPKA

Associate Professor of Neuroscience and the Jon Heighten Scholar in Autism Research at UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Konopka received dual B.S. degrees in Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Biology from MIT and completed her Ph.D. in Neurobiology at Harvard University. The research in the Konopka lab focuses on understanding the molecular pathways important for human brain evolution that are at risk in cognitive disorders such as autism and schizophrenia. Her lab uses a combination of human neurons, animal models, and primate comparative genomics to uncover human-specific, disease-relevant patterns of gene expression. Recent work in her lab integrates gene expression with signatures of neuronal activity in the human brain.  Dr. Konopka is the recipient of numerous awards including a NARSAD Young Investigator Award, an NIH Pathway to Independence Award, a Basil O’Connor Scholar Award from the March of Dimes, a Young Investigator Award from the International Society for Autism Research (INSAR), a Kavli Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, and an Understanding Human Cognition Scholar Award from the James S. McDonnell Foundation.
1200px-Prof._Dr._Gudrun_Rappold.jpg

GUDRUN RAPPOLD

Professor and Chair of Molecular Human Genetics at the Medical Faculty of Heidelberg University and member of the Faculty of Biosciences

After studying biosciences in Heidelberg, Konstanz and at Stanford, Dr. Rappold completed her doctoral program in 1984 with Thomas Cremer and Friedrich Vogel at the University of Heidelberg on the role of human sex chromosomes.  After completing post-doctoral research, she established her own research group at the Institute for Human Genetics in Heidelberg, funded by the Gerhard Hess Program of the German Research Association.  The research in Dr. Rappold’s group focused on the molecular mechanisms of genetic developmental disorders, with a special emphasis on neurodevelopmental disorders and the genetic cause of intellectual disability and autism, as well as on the regulation of transcription factors in growth and development.  She has published over 200 original papers, 50 reviews and book chapters, a monograph, and multiple patents.  Dr. Rappold has received several awards and recognitions, including the Gerhard Hess Prize from the German Research Foundation (1989–1994), the award for basic research from the State of Baden-Württemberg (1990) and various prizes for the research performance of employees (1997–2019).  She is a member of the Center for Rare Diseases, the Interdisciplinary Center for Neurosciences, the German Center for Cardiovascular Diseases and the CellNetworks Cluster of Excellence, among several other institutional and society memberships.
Jacki Crawley headshot.jpg

JACKI CRAWLEY

Distinguished Professor Emerita, MIND Institute; Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of California Davis School of Medicine

Dr. Crawley is an internationally recognized behavioral neuroscientist whose recent research focused on genetic mouse models of neurodevelopmental disorders. From 2012 to 2020 she served as the Robert E. Chason Endowed Chair in Translational Research at the MIND Institute, and Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of California Davis School of Medicine, in Sacramento.
Dr. Crawley received her B.A. in biology from the University of Pennsylvania, Ph.D. in zoology from the University of Maryland, and conducted postdoctoral research in neuropsychopharmacology at Yale University School of Medicine. As a principal investigator at the National Institute of Mental Health Intramural Research Program in Bethesda, Maryland since 1983, she served as Chief of the Laboratory of Behavioral Neuroscience until moving to the UC Davis MIND Institute in 2012. Her behavioral neuroscience laboratory has employed mouse and rat models of anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s, obesity, and neurodevelopmental disorders to understand biological causes and to discover medical treatments. Recent work in her laboratory on genetic mouse models of autism identified GABA-A and GABA-B receptor agonists, and mGluR5 and AMPA receptor modulators, which improved aspects of social interaction and reduced repetitive behaviors. She has published over 275 papers and 110 review articles, served on numerous editorial boards, scientific advisory and grant review committees, received honors including the IBNS Myers Lifetime Achievement Award, IBANGS Distinguished Scientist Award, NIMH Director’s Award, UC Davis Dean’s Award, and chaired the Summer Neuropeptide Conference and AAAS Neuroscience Section.  Dr. Crawley has also authored , a widely used reference in the biomedical research community.
 
srivastava_siddharth.jpg

Siddharth Srivastava 

Assistant Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School/Boston Children's Hospital

Dr. Siddharth Srivastava is a pediatric neurologist at Boston Children's Hospital specializing in neurogenetics. His research involves studying different genetic causes of neurodevelopmental presentations with the goal of developing targeted treatments. At Boston Children's Hospital, he provides care to children in a variety of neurodevelopmental and neurogenetics clinics. He received his B.A. degree in biochemistry from Columbia University and his M.D. degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He finished a combined residency in pediatrics and neurodevelopmental disabilities at Johns Hopkins Hospital and the Kennedy Krieger Institute. He completed a fellowship in neurogenetics at Boston Children's Hospital.